Style Professor: Frank & Oak Blazer Review

(All text in burgundy is clickable)

After a month of raving about the launch of Frank & Oak this past February, the online retailer is already in its second month of sales. If you’ve been a loyal or even semi-casual reader on Men’s Style Pro then you already know I make it my duty to only promote brands or companies that I believe in and wear. Frank & Oak is a brand that I truly believe and is unique because they produce quality garments priced at $50 or less.

The first piece that I’ve added to my wardrobe from Frank & Oak is the Sahara Windowpane Blazer. Thinking of how often I wear blazers, grabbing this one in this specific color was a no-brainer. The colors in this blazer complement a fair amount of shoes that I own in the cognac and oxblood colors. Constructed from light wool with a full cotton lining, the Sahara blazer by Frank & Oak is the perfect weight for the fall and spring.


Blazer by Frank & Oak – Silk Hand-knitted tie by The Knottery – Green & White Gingham Shirt by H&M – Dark Wash Jeans by Levi’s (Slim Taper 521) –

Cabarris Penny Loafer by Johnston & Murphy – I.C.U Socks by Sock it to Me – Substation Work Bag by J.Fold –

The wearability of this blazer will never be questioned because this blazer drapes the body well.The shorter crop style makes it a go-to when pairing with jeans. The faint window paint pattern gives off just enough pin-nosh for some character. At $50, I would never expect to find a blazer with functional buttons on the cuffs, but, the Frank & Oak Sahara blazer does come with this feature. There are many things that I do like about this blazer; however, there are a couple of alterations I would make if were lead designer.

Minor Alteration (if I was the designer of this blazer)

  • If possible, I would make the shoulders a bit more natural (just a little less padding)
  • If possible, I would taper the arms of this blazer slightly

In all, the Sahara blazer by Frank & Oak gets positive thumbs up from me. If you are the guy looking to amp up your patterns in the blazer department, this would be a great blazer to start you on that path.

 

Hardback copy of the Handbook of Style by Esquire Magazine

Best,

Sabir M. Peele

Twitter: @MensStylePro

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Blazer, Brands To Watch, Men's Style, Outerwear, Socks

Author:Sabir M. Peele

Founder & Creative Director of menswear style & lifestyle blog http://MensStylePro.com. Sabir serves as an independent brand consulting working with brands like GQ, AskMen, Indochino & Z Zegna (among others). Selected as #GQFall Best Dressed in 2013 & one of Esquire Magazine Best Dressed Real Men in America in 2010. Follow @MensStylePro on Instagram/Facebook/Twitter. Email Sabir@mensstylepro.com with your inquiries.

Connect with Men's Style Pro

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

20 Comments on “Style Professor: Frank & Oak Blazer Review”

  1. klstreet
    March 7, 2012 at 11:08 AM #

    Again, you knocked it out of the park. The pattern mixing is spot on! Question: I noticed you mentioned blazers having too much padding. I was wondering if that is something that can be altered by a tailor. I have some nice brooks brothers jackets that are really great quality but I like the natural should look much better. Probably stems from the fact that my shoulders are naturally fairly wide.

    • March 7, 2012 at 11:15 AM #

      Hi Keaton,

      You can have them removed by a tailor. Depends on how padded the blazer is. If you trust your tailor sit down with them and have that conversation about removing the padding because some suits can not be altered depending out how structural “sound” it may be.

      Best,

      Sabir

  2. March 7, 2012 at 12:43 PM #

    Looks great! I love the subtle pattern on the fabric as well.

  3. Rob Hodges
    March 7, 2012 at 9:18 PM #

    On point as always!!

  4. March 8, 2012 at 7:12 PM #

    Seen a tie like yours the other and was debating on buying it or not.

  5. Gabe
    March 8, 2012 at 8:03 PM #

    Sabir – did you have to have the blazer tailored at all or did it fit right out of the box?

    • March 8, 2012 at 11:16 PM #

      Hi Gabe,

      No alteration. Straight out of the box.

      Best,

      Sabir

  6. Immanuel Wilkins
    March 9, 2012 at 9:42 PM #

    What is the invitation code for frank and oak?

  7. Ryan
    March 22, 2012 at 8:19 PM #

    I just got mine in today. I am thoroughly impressed with it. Sadly, it is sized too small. As long as a 42 fits me, I’ll be buying from them for a long time.

  8. janmarcel
    March 27, 2012 at 5:05 AM #

    Great blog! That blazer is amazing!

    Jan Marcel Blog

  9. Alan
    May 25, 2012 at 11:29 AM #

    I think that the their blazers are a bit of a switch-and-bait, as they are all always out of stock. That being said, for those that are able to obtain them, they seem to be a great value!

    • May 29, 2012 at 3:11 PM #

      Hi Alan,

      It really because they make a limited supply of all of their items. So when people blazer they buy them up especially for $50.

      • Alex
        May 31, 2012 at 11:43 AM #

        Hey Sabir, what size are you wearing? I’m usually a size 37 (~5’8″, 150 lbs). I’ve heard they run a wee small, but am worried that if I get a 38 it might be a tad loose for me and sleeves too long (and tough to alter with surgeon cuffs). Let me know what you think when you get the chance. Later, bud.

      • May 31, 2012 at 11:45 AM #

        Alex,

        If you are going with F&O go with a 38 to see how the size fits. They are tailored well. I am a 38 (5’9″ 165lbs).

        – Sabir

  10. June 28, 2012 at 8:16 AM #

    Love the look and the blog. I came here looking for an educated take on Frank & Oak (I just joined).

    Small quibble: It’s spelled “panache”. 😉

  11. jack wonder
    July 10, 2012 at 2:33 AM #

    heres a refferal http://foak.co/hwnh/em4u

  12. Haleem
    September 18, 2012 at 5:47 PM #

    http://foak.co/I/l/3gyo

  13. Haleem
    September 18, 2012 at 5:54 PM #

    http://foak.co/ma8jsx8e3u

Leave a Reply

